Being convicted of a DUI can have life changing consequences, so if you were recently arrested for driving under the influence, you should consider contacting an experienced Dyer DUI attorney who can help you begin formulating a defense.
Under Indiana law, drivers are prohibited from operating their vehicles when:
Under the first two categories, prosecutors must provide evidence of a chemical or breathalyzer test in order to obtain a conviction. However, this proof is not required if there is evidence that a defendant was under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance, a drug other than a controlled substance, or a combination of the above, and that he or she:
In Indiana, most DUIs are considered misdemeanor offenses, which are punishable by up to two months in prison and a $500 fine, in addition to a one year license suspension. First time offenders are often able to avoid jail time and the year long license suspension by attending a substance abuse education course and performing community service.
DUI charges can be enhanced to a felony if:
In these cases, defendants could face three or more years in prison, a driver’s license suspension of up to ten years, designation as a habitual traffic offender, and a $10,000 fine.
Fortunately, there are certain defenses that defendants can raise if they have been charged with a DUI. For example, under Indiana law, evidence that the accused consumed a controlled substance under a valid prescription is a defense to a DUI charge. Defendants are also allowed to present evidence proving that:
To find out whether these or any other defenses apply to you, please contact a member of our legal team today.
Being convicted of driving under the influence can have life changing consequences, so it is critical for those who are accused of committing this crime to have a firm understanding of their rights and legal options.
How did we do?
Note: Your review may be shared publicly.